语不惊人死不休

2020年2月18日

2020年2月18日

朋友们,你们好

你有没有听过一句话:棍棒和石头可能会打断我的骨头,但语言永远不会伤害我?那个人显然从来没有听过不好的建议。我刚刚读到了我的一位读者发给我的一篇文章,它让我感到很气愤。这篇文章,我将在下面链接,正是那种毫无根据的错误信息,会给新投资者带来毁灭性的后果。

让我热血沸腾的是,文章中充满了狂妄的不实之词,其中最大的一句是"几十年来,巴菲特一直是投资之王。但让他成为全球第三大富豪的策略已经死了。"

现在我知道你在想什么,我无意识地跳出来捍卫我的英雄,奥马哈的神谕,我承认,如果我真的遇到了沃伦,我很可能会去所有的粉丝女孩,这将成为一个伟大的备忘录,我相信"■▄。然而,事实并非如此。我为自己非常与时俱进而感到自豪,能够关注所有新的信息,并且能够对我的投资策略进行调整。因此,我把所有可能的方面都看在眼里。

我可以看到本文作者本-布朗对于成长型投资的好处,以及特斯拉和亚马逊等一些全球领先公司的惊人业绩的看法。然而,采用狭隘的观点,使用一种策略而不是另一种策略是愚蠢的。

首先让我解释一下价值投资和成长投资的区别。来自Investopedia.com

价值投资

价值投资是一种投资策略,它涉及到选择那些看起来交易价格低于其内在或账面价值的股票。价值投资者积极挖掘出他们认为股市低估的股票。 

增长型投资

Growth investing is an investment style and strategy that is focused on increasing an investor's capital. Growth investors typically invest in growth stocks—that is, young or small companies whose earnings are expected to increase at an above-average rate compared to their industry sector or the overall market.

The basis of Ben's article is that value investing is dead and growth investing is the last man standing. As you can see they are two very different styles, but they’re still logically connected. For value investing, you want to find a business or stock that is trading or currently valued less than its intrinsic value (that was my word of the day 😉). Basically, a business that is worth less on the stock market today than its total sum of assets and income indicate it is worth. This can be for a variety of reasons, such as fleeting bad press or a downturn in the current demand for a product that is driven by short-term circumstance. So what you’re looking to do is "buy well," which is generally where the profits are made, as most professional investors know. Growth investing is the second fundamental of making an investment purchase. You can achieve this by either purchasing undervalued stock or by purchasing into a company that is expected to grow significantly.

如果你只关注新兴公司的发展战略,你要面临的问题是没有人有水晶球。本曾发表声明说,沃伦的方法是死的,他的策略是过时的,并称他与特斯拉和亚马逊等大公司失之交臂。是的,沃伦没有买入这些公司,这些公司的价值经历了相当稳定的攀升,没有出现明显的下滑,但本没有提到还有多少公司沃伦也没有买入,这些公司从这些新兴行业起步,没有成功。沃伦怎么会在支持哪些公司的问题上做出明智的决定呢?我们谈论的不是一个扶手椅投资者。如果沃伦对这些公司都进行了购买,那就不会是每家公司几百美元,看看它们的发展情况,它们将是重大的投资。

你可能已经看出来了,这两种策略是共同作用的,我认为本缺少了投资的基本原则,即耐心。如果跑出去开始购买所有今天表现良好的公司的股票,这是一个愚蠢的策略。首先,你要支付溢价,其次,如果这是他们最好的表现呢?现在我并不是说这种类型的策略在投资界没有地位。如果没有做出这些决定的人,我们就无法致富。哈哈。市场上到处都是高买低卖的人。我不希望看到的是我的读者或客户做出这样愚蠢的决定。毕竟我们是做赚钱的生意的。

我确实对这句话嗤之以鼻。"问题是,当你生活在价值投资的教条, 一切看起来高估... 难怪他是在边上 与创纪录的1300亿美元的现金。"

首先,经济衰退与死亡和税收一样是必然的。自货币问世以来的整个世界历史都证明了这一点。 阅读我的一篇旧文(https://www.raic.com.au/post/diamond-tiaras),可以了解我们现代经济衰退的可能性。

如果你看看Warrens的交易历史,你会发现,伯克希尔哈撒韦公司(Warrens公司)显然是将自己定位为可能是自Marcus Licinius Crassus(公元前112年-公元前53年)以来世界上有史以来最大的疯狂购买之一。如果你想看到一些真正的财富,请在这里阅读关于他的资料:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marcus_Licinius_Crassus。如果你以今天的美元计算他的财富,他可能是第一个万亿富翁。

本的文章中真正的说法,让我大跌眼镜。"许多人认为这意味着股市即将发生巨大的崩盘。但如果没有呢?如果这是一个新的投资时代--一个重视增长潜力、创新和明星效应而非基本面的时代呢?"

但如果没有呢!!!?说真的...WTF?这怎么是一个健全的投资策略的基础? 根据我们迄今为止所有的历史经济数据,不仅是经济衰退在某些时候不可避免,几乎所有可能的指标都指向它是在不久的将来。

当国际清算银行(BIS)发布文件(https://www.bis.org/publ/othp31.pdf),谈论"绿天鹅"(为方便起见,全球金融危机在银行界被称为黑天鹅)时,你可以肯定地知道市场上存在一些不稳定因素。绿天鹅是指由气候变化引发的潜在金融危机,即敦促央行购买煤矿以维持其运营,以支撑金融稳定。像伯克希尔哈撒韦这样的投资公司在建立战备箱时,就会考虑到这种数据,比如他们现在拥有1300亿美元的基金。

我现在就做一个预测。我给我们的老朋友,奥马哈的甲骨文开出了很高的赔率,一旦我们真的遇到不可避免的经济衰退或低迷,就会购买大量的亚马逊和特斯拉等公司的股票。- 届时,这些公司的价值将被低估,因为市场上的情绪正在阻止人们花钱购买新的通话设备和自动驾驶汽车,当他们担心明天可能没有工作的时候。到了那个时候,这些公司的市值就会大幅下降,不是因为它们不是强势公司,而是因为它们依赖市场情绪。这些公司才是能在经济衰退中生存下来的公司。

在这个人看来,要把所有的策略都用上,一起用,而且一定要分散投资。但最重要的投资工具是耐心。只有傻子才会急于求成。

谢谢你的阅读,朋友们,如果有什么想法或文章想让我写,请随时发给我。

祝你有愉快的一天。

Shaun Fox

https://www.ccn.com/the-warren-buffett-era-of-investing-is-over-elon-musk-proved-it/

#投资#价值投资#成长性投资

Words Break More than Bones

February 18, 2020

Feb 18, 2020

Hello friends

Have you heard the saying: sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me? That person obviously never listened to bad advice. I have just read an article that was sent to me by one of my readers and it has made me livid. This article, which I will link below, is exactly the type of unsupported misinformation that can bring devastating consequence to new investors.

What has my blood boiling is that the article is full of wildly ill-informed statements the biggest of which is "for decades, Warren Buffett has been the king of investing. But the strategy that made him the third-richest man on the planet is dead."

Now I know what you are thinking, I am mindlessly jumping to the defence of my hero, the Oracle of Omaha, I will admit that if I ever actually met Warren, I would most likely go all fan girl, which would make for a great meme I am sure😉. However, this is not the case. I pride myself on being very current with the times, being able to look at all new information and being able to pivot my investing strategy. As such, I look at all possible aspects.

I can see what the author of this article, Ben Brown, is saying in regards to the benefits of growth investing and the amazing results of some of the leading companies on the planet, such as Tesla and Amazon. However, adopting a narrow view of using one strategy over another is foolish.

Let me first explain the difference between value investing and growth investing. From Investopedia.com:

Value Investing

Value investing is an investment strategy that involves picking stocks that appear to be trading for less than their intrinsic or book value. Value investors actively ferret out stocks they think the stock market is underestimating. 

Growth Investing

Growth investing is an investment style and strategy that is focused on increasing an investor's capital. Growth investors typically invest in growth stocks—that is, young or small companies whose earnings are expected to increase at an above-average rate compared to their industry sector or the overall market.

The basis of Ben's article is that value investing is dead and growth investing is the last man standing. As you can see they are two very different styles, but they’re still logically connected. For value investing, you want to find a business or stock that is trading or currently valued less than its intrinsic value (that was my word of the day 😉). Basically, a business that is worth less on the stock market today than its total sum of assets and income indicate it is worth. This can be for a variety of reasons, such as fleeting bad press or a downturn in the current demand for a product that is driven by short-term circumstance. So what you’re looking to do is "buy well," which is generally where the profits are made, as most professional investors know. Growth investing is the second fundamental of making an investment purchase. You can achieve this by either purchasing undervalued stock or by purchasing into a company that is expected to grow significantly.

If you only focus on a growth strategy for new and emerging companies, the issue you are going to have is no-one has a crystal ball. Ben has made statements that Warren’s method is dead and his strategy is outdated, and has called him out on missing the boat with major companies like Tesla and Amazon. Yes, Warren did not purchase into these companies that have experienced fairly steady climbs in value without any significant dips, but Ben fails to mention how many other companies Warren also did not purchase that started out in those emerging industries and did not make it. How would Warren have been able to make an educated decision on which companies to back? We are not talking about an armchair investor. If Warren had made a purchase in all these companies, it would not have been a couple of hundred dollars in each to see how they went; they would have been significant investments.

As you can probably already see, both of these strategies work together and I think Ben is missing the fundamental principal of investing, patience. It is a foolish strategy to run out and start buying shares in all of the companies that are doing well today. Firstly, you are paying a premium  and secondly, what if that is the best they are ever going to do? Now I am not saying this type of strategy has no place in the investing world. Without the people who make these decisions, we cannot get rich. Haha. The markets are full of people buying high and selling low. What I do not want to see are any of my readers or clients making silly decisions like this. We are in the business of making money, after all.

I did have a chuckle at this statement: "Problem is, when you live by a value investing dogma, everything looks overvalued… No wonder he’s on the sidelines with a record $130 billion in cash."

Firstly, recessions are as certain as death and taxes. The entire history of the world since the introduction of money is a testament to that.  Read one of my older articles (https://www.raic.com.au/post/diamond-tiaras) for a breakdown of the likelihood of recessions in our modern era.

If you look at Warrens history of trading you will see that, Berkshire Hathaway, (Warrens company) is clearly positioning itself for possibly one of the largest buying frenzies the world has ever seen since Marcus Licinius Crassus (112 BC – 53 BC). If you want to see some real wealth, read up about him here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marcus_Licinius_Crassus. He may have been the very first trillionaire if you accounted for his wealth in today’s dollars.

The real statement from Ben’s article that has me up in arms: "Many have suggested this means there’s a huge stock market crash around the corner. But what if there isn’t? What if this is a new era of investing – one that values growth potential, innovation, and star-power over fundamentals."

But what if there isn’t?!!! Seriously ... WTF? How is that a sound basis for an investing strategy?  Based on all the historical economic data we have to date, not only is a recession inevitable at some point, just about every possible indicator is pointing to it being in the near future.

When you have the Bank for International Settlements(BIS)- issuing a paper (https://www.bis.org/publ/othp31.pdf) talking about a "green swan" (for context, the Global Financial Crisis in banking circles has been nicknamed the black swan) you know with certainty that there is some instability in the market. The green swan is a potential financial crisis arising from climate change, where central banks are being urged to purchase coal mines to keep them operational to shore up financial stability. This is the type of data that investment firms like Berkshire Hathaway take into consideration when building a war chest, like the $130 billion of funds they have right now. 

I will make a prediction right now. I am putting very good odds on our old friend, the Oracle of Omaha, purchasing large amounts of shares in companies like Amazon and Tesla once we do have the inevitable recession or downturn. – when those companies will be undervalued because emotion in the marketplace is stopping people from spending money on new talking devices and self-driving cars, when they are worried that tomorrow they may not have a job. At that point, those companies will have a significant decline in market value, not because they are not strong companies, but because they are reliant on market sentiment. Those are the types of companies that will survive a recession.

In this man’s opinion, use all of the strategies, use them together and always be diversified. But the most important investment tool is patience. Only fools rush in.

Thank you for reading, friends, and please feel free to send me any thoughts or articles you might like me to write about.

Have a lovely day.

Shaun Fox

https://www.ccn.com/the-warren-buffett-era-of-investing-is-over-elon-musk-proved-it/

#investment #valueinvesting #growthinvesting